Food · North Shore
North Shore Shave Ice: 5 Stands, Ranked
The North Shore has two shave ice clusters: three stands in Haleiwa town and two in Kahuku, about 10 miles apart by road. This guide ranks all five on what each one publishes and sells: posted prices, flavor counts, weekly hours and dated proof that it is open. Base prices run from $3.75 to $9, a 2.4 times spread, so the choice matters.
Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you book or buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Syrup going onto a bowl at Matsumoto in Haleiwa. Photo: Anthony Quintano, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.
The Short List
Best Shave Ice on the North Shore, Ranked
- 1 · Best overallMatsumoto, Haleiwa: since 1951, with the lowest posted price and longest hours
- 2 · Organic syrupsKula Shave Ice North Shore, Kahuku: organic, locally sourced fruit and dietary labels
- 3 · ShakesAoki’s, Haleiwa: syrup shakes with vanilla ice cream and a 6:30 p.m. close
- 4 · Fruit bowlsRainbow House Shave Ice, Kahuku: fresh-fruit specialty bowls
- 5 · Ice creamKaimana Shave Ice, Haleiwa: homemade ice cream; call for hours
How the five are ranked: each stand is measured on what it publishes and sells, using its own website, ordering page and Instagram or Facebook as checked on October 6, 2026. The measurements are the posted base price, the single flavors on the menu, hours per week, what the stand says about its syrups, and dated proof that it is open and that its prices are current. Stands with no website or social page of their own are not included. Where a stand’s own channels disagree or have gone quiet, the entry says so.
Shave ice is one stop on a long coast. The North Shore Oahu Guide maps the whole stretch, and the North Shore food trucks guide covers lunch in the same two towns.
North Shore Shave Ice, Ranked
Matsumoto
Best for: the lowest price, the longest hours and the longest flavor list
Why it ranks first. History first: Matsumoto Shave Ice has served the North Shore from Haleiwa since 1951, and it is the stand the town is known for. It also leads on three of the five measurements: price, hours and flavor count. A small is $3.75 and a large $4.25 on its printed menu, the lowest posted base price of the five and $5.25 below Kula’s $9 Regular. It is open daily 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., 56 hours a week and the most of any stand, and closes only on Thanksgiving, December 25 and January 1. The menu prints 39 single flavors and four named combinations, with up to three flavors or one combination per bowl.
Add-ons are priced on the menu (see the table below). Its FAQ says the syrups are 100% pure cane sugar and every flavor is gluten-free (the waffle tray on the $7.25 Ichiban Special is not). Only four flavors (mizore, lilikoi, lychee and yuzu) are free of artificial color and flavor.
Trade-offs. Its about page says it serves over 1,000 shave ice on a warm sunny day, and it takes no phone orders, so a busy afternoon means waiting in person. If the line is long, skip it: Aoki’s is 46 meters away across the highway, with its own syrups and the only shakes in town. The menu image on its website carries a 2023 file name: confirm prices at the window or call (808) 637-4827. Full details are in the Matsumoto review.
Kula Shave Ice North Shore
Best for: organic, locally sourced fruit syrups and clear dietary labels, in Kahuku
Why it ranks second. Kula is the only stand here that describes its syrups as organic: hand-crafted flavors from organically grown, locally sourced fruit, organic cane sugar and ultra-filtered water. Its menu labels each of the 13 syrups and every topping as organic, gluten free, vegan or dairy free where it applies, and offers vegan substitutes for the ice cream combinations. Flavors include soursop, goldenmilk and coconut-matcha. Its price list was checked live on October 6, 2026, and its Instagram posted on October 3 and October 1.
Eight named combinations run from $10.25 (Tropical Vibes) to $16.50 (Poi in Sai). Toppings run $1.25 to $2.25, and fillings are $3 each: vanilla ice cream, chocolate ice cream or fresh Oahu poi.
Trade-offs. Price is what keeps Kula from first. A Regular is $9 and a Keiki $8, for one to two flavors, before Hawaii sales tax and a 4% card fee, so a Regular paid by card is $9.36 before tax. The menu calls Regular the largest size it offers. Hours are seasonal: daily 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. from November through February (42 hours a week), 12 to 6 p.m. in September and October, and 11 a.m. to 6 p.m. from March through August. No phone number is published on its website.
Aoki’s
Best for: shakes (syrup blended with vanilla ice cream) and the latest close of the five, 6:30 p.m.
Why it ranks third. Aoki’s Shave Ice posts the most combinations of any stand: its own board lists about 30 classic flavors, from li hing mui to ube, and 12 named combinations, plus Shave Ice Shakes, which it describes as its homemade syrups blended with two scoops of vanilla ice cream. It closes at 6:30 p.m., the latest of the five. It sits at the corner of Emerson Road, 46 meters (about 150 feet) from Matsumoto across Kamehameha Highway, so trying both in one stop costs a street crossing, not a drive.
What its own channels say, dated. Prices come from a chalkboard in the stand’s Instagram reel filmed November 14, 2025: small $4.25, large $5.25, three flavors. Its newest Instagram post as of September 27, 2026, dated April 13, 2026, is a graphic listing hours of 11 a.m. to 6:30 p.m., closed Tuesdays (45 hours a week). Its Facebook page last posted June 16, 2026. With nothing newer published, call (808) 637-6782 to confirm hours and prices before you drive.
Trade-offs. It is closed Tuesdays, when Matsumoto, Kula and Rainbow House are open, and its newest posts are from spring 2026, with prices from a November 2025 chalkboard. See the Aoki’s review for the full picture.
Oahu North Shore Fun: Waimea Waterfall and Turtle Snorkeling
★★★★★ 4.9 · 2,055 reviews · From $168
Check AvailabilityWe may earn a commission if you book through this link, at no extra cost to you.
Not driving? This nine-hour North Shore tour lists time in Haleiwa town for lunch, Matsumoto shave ice and shopping. It covers the Haleiwa end of the ranking only, so for Kula and Rainbow House in Kahuku you need your own car.
Rainbow House Shave Ice
Best for: fresh-fruit specialty bowls and a Kahuku stop paired with Kula, 2.6 miles away
Why it ranks fourth. Rainbow House is a family-owned stand that also sells acai bowls, smoothies and halo-halo, and it is the only stand with fresh-fruit toppings priced on its menu. Its online order page, checked October 6, 2026, lists Hawaiian Shave Ice at $5.75 (size not stated) and five specialty bowls at $8.50 each: Rainbow (mini mochi balls, vanilla ice cream, snow cap), Mango (diced mango), Pineapple (diced pineapple), Peach (fresh pineapple) and Azuki Bean (milk shave ice with sweet red beans). Halo-halo is $10.99. It ranks above Kaimana because it publishes prices and hours.
It opens daily 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. except Wednesdays, 36 hours a week and the shortest of the four stands that post hours. Kula is 2.6 miles and about 5 minutes away by car (a free-flow estimate), so the two Kahuku stands pair easily.
Trade-offs. It publishes no flavor count and no phone number, and its Instagram last posted on April 22, 2024, so its website and order page are the current sources.
Kaimana Shave Ice
Best for: homemade ice cream, plus acai and matcha syrups, in Haleiwa
Why it ranks fifth. Kaimana ranks last because it publishes the least, not because of what it sells. Opened in 2018 by Jake Nowicki, with his brother Max joining later, it says its syrups are made daily from fruit, water and cane sugar. Its menu lists 12 flavors: mango, pineapple, strawberry, lilikoi, lychee and coconut (also served at its events), plus acai, cacao, vanilla, matcha, lemon and mandarin (store only). Toppings include homemade ice cream in vanilla, macadamia nut and banana (a vegan coconut ice cream is store only). No azuki beans are listed.
Its website lists no prices, and its website, Instagram bio and Google listing give three different sets of hours, so this guide prints none. Call (808) 721-5553 before you go.
Trade-offs. It is 1,302 meters (0.8 miles) from Matsumoto, about 2 minutes by car, so it is a drive or a longer walk from the other two Haleiwa stands. Its newest Instagram post from the shop itself, as of October 6, 2026, is dated April 27, 2026.
North Shore Shave Ice Compared
All five side by side, with prices as each stand posts them and the date of the source. None posts ounces, so these are prices, not prices per ounce.
| Stand | Town | Base price (posted) | Flavors | Hours | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Matsumoto | Haleiwa | Small $3.75, large $4.25 (official menu, checked Oct 2026) | 39 flavors, 4 combinations | Daily 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. | Lowest price, longest hours, most flavors |
| Kula Shave Ice North Shore | Kahuku | Keiki $8, Regular $9 (menu, Oct 6, 2026; before tax and 4% card fee) | 13 syrups, 8 combinations | Daily; Nov to Feb 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. (12 to 6 p.m. Sep to Oct) | Organic syrups, dietary labels |
| Aoki’s | Haleiwa | Small $4.25, large $5.25 (chalkboard filmed Nov 14, 2025) | About 30 flavors, 12 combinations | 11 a.m. to 6:30 p.m., closed Tue (Instagram, Apr 13, 2026) | Shakes, latest close |
| Rainbow House Shave Ice | Kahuku | Hawaiian Shave Ice $5.75, size not stated; specialty bowls $8.50 (order page, Oct 6, 2026) | Count not published; 5 specialty bowls | 11 a.m. to 5 p.m., closed Wed | Fruit-topped bowls, paired with Kula |
| Kaimana Shave Ice | Haleiwa | Not posted | 12 syrups | Call (808) 721-5553 | Homemade ice cream, matcha and acai |
| Add-on | Matsumoto | Kula |
|---|---|---|
| Vanilla ice cream | +$1.00 (with azuki beans, +$1.50 together) | Filling, $3 |
| Condensed milk | +$0.50 | $1.25 |
| Azuki beans | +$1.00 | $2.25 |
| Mochi | +$1.00 (five pieces) | $2.25 |
From the posted prices, a Matsumoto small with vanilla ice cream and azuki beans comes to $5.25. A Kula Regular with azuki beans and a vanilla ice cream filling comes to $14.25 before tax and the card fee. Kula’s Regular is its largest size and the other stands do not state sizes, so the gap is price, not measured portion.
Haleiwa Shave Ice and Kahuku: Planning the Stops
Two clusters, then a drive. In Haleiwa, Matsumoto and Aoki’s are 46 meters apart across the highway and Kaimana is 1.3 kilometers away, so Haleiwa shave ice is walkable between two stands, with the third a short drive or a longer walk away. In Kahuku, Kula and Rainbow House are 2.6 miles apart. Between the clusters, Matsumoto to Kula is 10.5 miles, about 23 minutes by car without traffic (OpenStreetMap coordinates and a free-flow routing estimate, October 6, 2026).
- Getting there. Haleiwa is about 34.6 miles from Waikiki, around an hour without traffic. The Oahu Scenic Drive Map plots the North Shore stops with drive times, and the guide to what to do on the North Shore fills in the rest of the day.
- Closed days. Aoki’s is closed Tuesdays and Rainbow House is closed Wednesdays. Matsumoto and Kula are open every day, though Matsumoto closes on Thanksgiving (November 26, 2026), December 25 and January 1.
- Closing time. From November through February, Kula and Rainbow House close at 5 p.m., Matsumoto at 6 p.m. and Aoki’s at 6:30 p.m. Kaimana’s hours are unconfirmed.
- Parking and cards. Only Matsumoto publishes parking (behind the shops at Haleiwa Store Lots, 95 stalls, no fee published), and it accepts MasterCard, Visa, American Express, Discover and JCB.
Premium Small-Group Oahu Circle Island Tour: Pali Wind Bath
★★★★★ 4.8 · 1,815 reviews · From $99
Check AvailabilityWe may earn a commission if you book through this link, at no extra cost to you.
This small-group circle island tour is a 9.5-hour day whose itinerary stops in Haleiwa town, which it introduces with Matsumoto’s Shave Ice. If you would rather not drive the coast, it is a way to reach the Haleiwa end of this list. For a full day of eating on your own schedule, the self-guided Oahu food tour adds the rest of the island.
How This Was Checked
Every price, hour and count above comes from the stand itself, on the date shown. Rankings are this guide’s, based on those measurements. Check the stand’s own page or phone before you drive, because hours and prices change.
- Matsumoto: matsumotoshaveice.com (home, menu, FAQ and about pages; hours re-read October 6, 2026), and the center’s page at haleiwastorelots.com for the stall count.
- Kula: kulashaveicenorthshore.com (menu, hours and about pages, October 6, 2026) and its Instagram.
- Aoki’s: its Instagram and Facebook page, checked September 27, 2026.
- Rainbow House: rainbowhouseshaveice.com and its online order page, October 6, 2026.
- Kaimana: kaimanashaveice.com (menu, story and contact pages, October 6, 2026).
North Shore Shave Ice Questions
Where is the best shave ice on the North Shore?
Matsumoto in Haleiwa ranks first in this guide: the lowest posted price ($3.75 for a small), the longest hours (daily 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.) and the longest menu (39 flavors). Kula Shave Ice North Shore in Kahuku ranks second for its organic, locally sourced fruit syrups and its dietary labels.
How much is shave ice on the North Shore?
Posted base prices run from $3.75 for a small at Matsumoto to $9 for a Regular at Kula (before tax and a 4% card fee). Aoki’s posted a $4.25 small on a chalkboard in November 2025, and Rainbow House lists Hawaiian Shave Ice at $5.75 on its order page. Kaimana posts no prices.
What is the best shave ice in Haleiwa?
Haleiwa has three stands. Matsumoto and Aoki’s face each other across Kamehameha Highway, 46 meters apart, and Kaimana is 0.8 miles away, about 2 minutes by car. Matsumoto ranks first for its history (since 1951), price, hours and flavor count. If its line is long, Aoki’s across the road is the easy swap, and the only one that lists shakes.
Is there shave ice in Kahuku?
Yes, two stands: Kula Shave Ice North Shore on Kamehameha Highway across from Kawela Bay, and Rainbow House Shave Ice at 56-931 Kamehameha Highway. They are about 2.6 miles and 5 minutes apart by car, so one Kahuku stop can cover both.
Which North Shore shave ice stands are open on Tuesday and Wednesday?
On Tuesday, Matsumoto, Kula and Rainbow House are open and Aoki’s is closed. On Wednesday, Matsumoto, Kula and Aoki’s are open and Rainbow House is closed. Kaimana’s schedule is unconfirmed, so call (808) 721-5553 first.
Which North Shore shave ice has organic or vegan options?
Kula labels every item organic, gluten free, vegan or dairy free, and offers vegan substitutes for its ice cream combinations. Matsumoto says every flavor is gluten-free and the menu is vegan except the vanilla ice cream, condensed milk and cream flavors.
Leave a Reply